Cheyenne 50 Years Ago

Upper Washita Conservation District is Oklahoma’s First Place Winner in the 25th annual Goodyear Conservation Awards Contest. L.L. Males, Cheyenne is chairman of the UWCD. Other directors are Clifford Weichel and Ray Stucker, Clinton, CW Lester, Cheyenne and J Eugene Blackketter of Leedey. Associate directors are Frank Tidwell and Dale Tracy of Cheyenne, Roger Schneider of Clinton and Louis Chapman of Hammon. Wayne Vignal, Hammon who was named the district’s outstanding cooperator and Frank Tidwell, Cheyenne, member of the district’s governing board, will be Goodyear’s guests in December on a four-day vacation-study trip to Marco Island, Florida. Weekend visitors in…

You must be logged in to view this content. Click here to subscribe

Charles in Charge

By Landry Brewer — For more than half a year, Charles Wren has been busy preserving Elk City’s past and telling its stories.Wren became the

Read More »