Western Technology Center Celebrates 50th Practical Nursing Graduation

Western Technology Center celebrates 50 years of Practical Nursing training and the impact that 1,247 Practical Nursing graduates to date have had on the healthcare industry in western Oklahoma and beyond.

Fifteen months ago, a group of strangers walked through the doors of Western Technology Center and into the Practical Nursing classroom. The students came from various backgrounds including oil and gas, marketing, ranching, pest control, medical assistant, advanced medication aide, and certified nurse aides. All came with the goal of being difference makers. At the recent graduation ceremony, students received their completion diploma presented by WTC Board of Education President, Ray Challis and the traditional nursing pin from WTC PN Instructors, Lisa Holman, and Shelby Gladd.

Chandler Calvert and Delia Cruz-Murphy were awarded and recognized for maintaining perfect attendance for the entire fifteen months of the program. The WTC PN staff recognized Sierra Stout with the Rising Star Award for making the greatest advances in the classroom, clinical area, and in her self-confidence since the beginning of the program. Stout received high academic grades and exemplary clinical evaluations during her training. Another program tradition is selecting the overall Student of the Year.

This student has high academic performance, shows great compassion and ethics for the art of nursing, and displays several leadership characteristics in the clinical area. This year’s Student of the Year is Ashley Sanderford. As WTC commits to “educating people for success”, the following students are National Technical Honor Society members: Steven Thompson, Shannon Sharp, Ashley Sanderford, Delia Cruz-Murphy, and Sefra Wilson. The criteria for the honor society includes maintaining an A average, staying within the attendance policy, and exhibiting leadership qualities.

Student of the Month is another award given by the WTC PN program. The recipient of this award is voted on by their peers and then selected based on grades, attendance, and leadership qualities for that month. Congratulations to the following students for being recognized as a “Student of the Month”. Steven Thompson, Sefra Wilson, Ashley Sanderford, Chandler Calvert, Stephanie Truesdell, Devon Lambeth, Sierra Stout, Kathleen Palomo, Caitlyn Haas, Hannah O’Neil, and Colby Black.


Where: Skipout Lake, 11.5 miles west of Cheyenne on State Hwy 47 and 1/2 mile north on County Rd. N/S 1750Time: Registration and fishing between

Read More »


AWESOME…July and Jorja Vernon both received a I on their piano solo at the Oklahoma Music Teachers Association (OMTA) State Piano Contest last week. Their

Read More »


CLEANING…Upper Washita Conservation District employees Tracey York, Katy Elliott, and Hope Porter spent the day traveling around the county picking up trash in various locations.

Read More »


CHAMPION…Jacquelynn Padgett and her steer HSC Bazooka Joe won the Grand Champion Prospect Steer at the 2024 OMHA Route 66 Classic Show in El Reno

Read More »